Day 306

When you are discontent, you always want more, more, more. Your desire can never be satisfied. But when you practice contentment, you can say to yourself, ‘Oh yes – I already have everything that I really need.’  ~ Dalai Lama

Today was a great day! at first as usual, on a Thursday, my first thought when I get up early to go to work is: UGH, I have yoga class today, I’m tired and I don’t have the energy for yoga class! But, as usual, by the time 11:30 comes around, I’m looking forward to it, and needing the break myself from work. Today there was only 3 people in class, but I was expecting more, so that was a bit diasppointing. But one of the 3 people was a yoga virgin, a woman who had never done yoga before – and one of my students that had come in the class before anyone else said this person was coming and she was nervous because she’d never done yoga before, and also said the  fact that she was actually coming was big. Like BIG. So that kind of made ME nervous, hoping I would teach a good beginners class. And so I said to the one student, that I was nervous too, and she came up to me and gave me a huge hug telling me how awesome a teacher I was and how much she (and everyone who has been to my classes so far) LOVES my classes! and I was so touched!

It turned out to be a great class, and the new person ended up loving it so much that she went back to her desk and immediately told her coworkers about it and now 2 more people want to come – including another total beginner who has never done yoga before! That just made me SO HAPPY to hear that I’m spreading the love and joy to others, including people who have never done it but who are willing to come try it because they’ve heard how good my classes are and about my teaching style (holistic hatha yoga).

Today’s quote at the top was the quote I used in class (well, after class actually because I forgot to read out the quote!). It’s about contentment because the theme of today’s class was the 2nd Niyama – Santosha – contentment or satisfaction.

Today’s Daily Calm meditation was about Inner Work – how it’s important to do inner work -soul searching, finding out who you are, what you want to do/be etc. And inner work is done by mindfulness practices such as meditation.

When I got home from work today, I wanted to do a bit more yoga…so I did a 45 minute video for after school/work, from Yoga International, and it was pretty much almost identical to my class! which was very bizarre to say the least! (except they had pyramid pose in there).

