Day 294

here is my secret, a very simple secret: It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye. ~ Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Today is Day 6 of Yoga With Adriene’s At Home Retreat schedule. This morning I got up and did her  short 21 minute Gentle Morning sequence – one of my favourite morning yoga videos of hers. Then later on today there is No Fear Yoga, a 37 minute good overall workout – strengthening and sweat building, to help you face your fears or challenging moments you might be going through – sweat out the stress!

Today’s YWA Journal prompt is – Celebrate! Which is funny because I’m actually celebrating a friend’s belated birthday tonight (and another belated birthday get together tomorrow night!) So that is what I’m celebrating today – friends and lovely beautiful sunny weather!

Today’s Daily Calm meditation topic was on Chitta, the sanskrit word that loosely means ‘heart-mind’, and I learned that chitta means in Sanskrit and other languages (like Buddhist languages, Chinese and other ancient ones), it is interchangable with the word mind. So heart and mind are thought to be the same thing. Interesting! Maybe that we really think and act from the heart and not the mind? Funnily enough the yoga sutra came to me yesterday out of the blue: Yogash Chitta Vritti Nirodahah – which means yoga calms/stills the spinning thought waves of the mind (or should that be heart?!). Yoga does calm the mind and I guess also calms the heart as well – which is so awesome!

 

