Day 285

Give a man everything he wants and at that moment everything is not everything ~ Immanuel Kant

The theme of my yoga class at work today was the 5th Yama – Aparigraha, which means non-possessiveness/non-greediness/non-grasping. Which is why I ended the class with the above quote – about the fact that even when we think we have everything and our life is perfect, there’s always something just out of our grasp that we want more…! I got all deep in philosophical during the meditation today. It was a so hum mantra meditation and so hum means I am that, that I am. “That” being the universe and that you are the universe and the universe is you. So I got a bit philosophical and I went on about how the fact that we are made of the chemicals of nitrogen calcium iron are the same chemicals that make up the Stars and the planets in the universe so that we are the universe and the universe is us. Maybe it was a little bit over-the-top but I think my students appreciated it.

I started today with today’s Daily Calm which was about Heartbreak and then I finished my walk to work with a 15 minute walking meditation.

My yoga practice today was a more gentle grounding, close to the earth practice because me and my students all needed something gentle today so I changed my original class plan from something more active, starting with sun salutations and some strengthening standing poses, to ground based stuff.

When I got home from work I did a 15 minute PM Kapha-Pacifying practice from Yoga International, which was really nice and relaxing, but starting with ‘breath of joy’.

