Day 282

In your soul there are infinitely precious things that cannot be taken from you ~ Oscar Wilde

Today I got up about 7:30 because my husband said we were going to be leaving early to take our dog Bailey for a walk before it got too hot out (it turned out it was only about 15 or 16 degrees by the time we actually left and got to the park at 9:25am). My husband had told me to wake him at 8am. And then at 8:30. So while he was still sleeping, I snuck in a 15 minute yoga video from Yoga Interational – 5 poses to prepare for meditation – which was down dog, plank, bound angle, dynamic child’s pose (which had a cat cow element thrown in there), and low lunge. And then I did today’s Daily Calm which was called Technique and right now I can’t remember for the life of me what was discussed…so I guess today’s meditation didn’t make much impact on me with it’s message. The quote given during the meditation was by Yvon Chouinard who said: How you climb a mountain is more important than reaching the top. Oh, I guess it was more about feeling your breath rather that trying to focus on concentrating on your breath, as a technique to maintain mindfulness/awareness during breathing meditation.

Later in the afternoon I started to feel a bit drained with allergy symptoms, and I noticed Yoga With Adriene had a new video on her YouTube channel, part 2 of her Movement Medicine series. The first episode was energy, and today’s was Calm . It was great. When I’d finished it, I felt less drowsy (but still later went to have a nap after having left over prawn risotto for lunch!).

 

