Day 245

Act as if what you do makes a difference. It does. ~ William James
Today marks 500 straight days of doing yoga! Since January 1st I have done at least a few minutes of yoga every day – some days when I’m not feeling well, I might just manage one round of sun salutations, or a couple relaxing/restorative poses, but on average I usually try to do at least half an hour a day of yoga (asana, the posture part of the 8 limbs of yoga). I also try to meditate every day (which I have for 207 days straight thanks to my Calm App!), and try to do some pranayama (breathing) exercises as well.
So today, to celebrate my 500 day yoga streak, i’m going to do a 45 minute Ultimate Yoga Workout (courtesy of Sean Vigue Fitness!). I’ve mentioned Sean before, and I really like his down to earth, casual style, and his videos are almost always quite energetic and powerful – being a guy, I guess that is his ‘go to’ …and I really like his style of teaching, and his phrases and how he talks – not HOW he talks, as in an accent…but just the words he uses to guide you into the poses. He feels like a guy next door kinda guy… you know what I mean? So today I’m going to do this full body yoga ‘work out’. After I did the workout, I did Yoga With Adriene’s Meditation for Anxiety, even though I don’t have anxiety myself, but I always like a good meditation session!
Today I started reading the book I got from the library on Yoga by Baron Baptise, world renowned yoga teacher and founder of Baptiste Yoga: Perfectly Imperfect: The Art and Soul of Yoga Practice. It’s a small (literally) and fairly short book, but so far it’s good!
Not only is today my 500 days of yoga, it’s also Day 30, the final day of the 30 days of Brave challenge! And you can guess what the theme of today is: I AM BRAVE! the quote is:

Don’t be afraid of your fears. They’re not there to scare you. They’re there to let you know that something is worth it. ~ C. JoyBell C

I really like this quote. We have nothing to fear but fear itself…but fear isn’t to scare you, it’s to motivate you to keep going because whatever you’re afraid of is worth it, it’ll help you to grow and evolve as a human BEING on this earth!

The journal prompts for this final day are:

What was the most insightful thing you learned about yourself in the past 30 days?

That I can actually do this whole yoga teacher thing! after doing two ‘practice’ classes… it was great to know that I hadn’t got ‘rusty’ like I felt!

How have you noticed your brave training empower others around you to be brave too?

I passed on the info about this challenge to a friend who was needing some motivation. And she just told me she’s going to start running again (both of us haven’t run in about a year!), and wants to start next week and invited me to join her – even just one day a week! so I’m excited

What is one thing that you are going incorporate into your daily routine to help you live a brave, bold life?

I’m going to continue my daily yoga/meditation practice and also start back up running again and increasing my cardio so I can lose weight! (and stay fit with my yoga)

Leave a Reply

