Day 235

Every day is a new beginning. Treat it that way. Stay away from what might have been and look at what can be ~ Marsha Petrie Sue

The above quote was from Day 19 of 30 days of Brave with the theme of I Am Optimistic. And I know that’s not entirely the case. I’m a fairly pessimistic person, something I think I ‘inherited’ from my mom who was always very negative and pessimistic! But I try to catch myself when I’m thinking negatively and stop that, and chide myself (again a negative behaviour though!) and start thinking the opposite, a more positive thought.

ANYWHO…Today’s yoga was me teaching my awesome relaxing yoga class to 4 co-workers! I even threw in a few poses that weren’t on my class plan! (warrior 1 and also high lunge – but i ended up forgetting a pose, oops…not a big deal though). And everyone enjoyed it – the 3 new people! and i wasn’t even nervous! (much, except maybe during the intro part to the class). Afterwards one of the students said that she liked my class MORE than the corporate yoga classes that are offered at my work! that just made my day! because I was nervous that the new people, who had attended quite a few of the new corporate yoga classes wouldn’t like the holistic style of yoga that I teach, so I was very relieved when the one person said she like it more – she liked learning about the history of yoga  – the theme of today’s class, following on from yesterday, was Satya or Truthfulness, the second of the 5 Yamas (which is the first limb of the 8 limbs of yoga).

When I got home today I did today’s Daily Calm, which was about Observing – observing the breath.

Today’s Brave journal prompt is”: When things inevitably don’t go my way today, I will use optimism to overcome adversity by responding in the following way: well, first of all, I wouldn’t say things would INEVITABLY not go my way today – that’s a very negative and pessimistic view! and in fact everything DID go my way today! I had no complaints! (and in fact lots of positives!).

Leave a Reply

