Day 227

Compassion is the courage to descend into the reality of human experience  ~ Paul Gilbert

Today I did yoga twice, two videos from YogaTX. First thing in the morning I woke up with a great 30 minute morning sequence for beginners, nice and gentle. It said it was energizing, but I didn’t really find that. And later in the afternoon I needed some energizing so did a 10 minute energizing yoga workout, after waking up from a nap, and before taking our dog out for a second walk on the beach, because we’re on the Oregon coast for vacation for the past few days, and only here for another 2 days, and the sun came out and it was dry, so we thought we should take him out again.

I did today’s daily calm meditation which was about Negativity, after I finished the morning yoga video.

Today was also day 17 of the 30 day plank challenge so I was up to 2 minutes and 50 seconds. I take little breaks between planks by pushing back into downward facing dog…

Today’s 30 days of brave challenge theme is I am Compassionate. Today’s brave act is to think of a situation in your life that is difficult and causing you stress. Bring the situation to mind and see if you can actually feel the stress and emotional discomfort in your body.

It’s kind of like what you do during mindfulness or meditation. Observing emotions and sitting with them.

Today’s I Am Brave journal prompt is: write a note to yourself from the perspective of an unconditionally loving imaginary friend.

That’s an interesting idea and thought experiment. I guess I could think of a non-imaginary unconditionally loving friend – my dog! If he was able to talk, he would be unconditionally loving and say stuff to me like: You are perfect just the way you are, I just love spending time in your presence, even if we aren’t even doing anything, just being near you and in the same space as you is great. I don’t know why you are hard on yourself about how you look physically, when really that doesn’t matter at all in the big scheme of things! Just love life and love how you are living right now.

 

Leave a Reply

