Day 222

Do you want to know who you are? Don’t ask. Act! Action will delineate and define you. ~Thomas Jefferson

Today’s Day 5 of the 30 Days of Brave them is I AM ENOUGH. And today’s ‘Brave Act’ was to spend some time listening to your thoughts of ‘not enough’. And today’s quote that is along that theme is: You are enough, just as you are. Each emotion you feel, everything you do in your life, everything you do or do not do…where you are and who you are right now is enough. It is perfect. You are perfect enough ~ Melanie Jade

Today’s yoga practice was a great strengthening 40 minute Strength and Flexibility sequence from YogaTX, involving lots of 3 legged dogs, down dogs, low lunge, warrior 1 and 2 and triangle. I followed today’s vigorous video with today’s Daily Calm meditation which about Endings – specifically ending relationships that no longer serve and are negative. It was interesting to ruminate about that.

Today’s  I am Brave 30 day challenge journal prompts are:

How would I define feeling ‘enough’ as it relates to me personally?

That’s a tough question. But I think it would be if I felt totally content and happy with who I am physically and mentally and emotionally at this moment.

Why do my voices of ‘not enough exist? what are they trying to tell me?

They exist because of the ego. The ego is always trying to constantly chatter away, to be negative, to get me to think and worry and self-doubt myself… the ego SUCKS! we are not our ego, we are outside of our ego – our true inner nature is above the ego – and through meditation and mindfulness practices we can start to learn to ignore/drown out the ego and listen to and get in touch with our true selves. I don’t know what the voices of ‘not enough’ are trying to tell me – but i do know they are pitting me against myself which isn’t very productive or helpful at all! so when those voices arise I need to practice ahimsa – non-violence, compassion and kindness towards myself.

How can I grow by spending time listening to these voices?

I guess you can grow by learning to do the OPPOSITE of the voices that tell you that you aren’t enough: aren’t smart enough, pretty enough, confident enough, etc etc etc on and on ad nauseum. So I guess the point of them, if we are willing to listen to the negativity of ‘not enough’ and turn those thoughts on their head when they arise (if we pay close enough attention to stop ourselves from paying them any actual attention), then we can use them as a way to think more positively about who we are, and how we are and how we want to be!

 

Okay, deep philosophical rant done for the day! Sorry if that got all too mystical and spiritual way too fast…!

Leave a Reply

