Day 189

None of us will ever accomplish anything excellent or commanding except when he listens to this whisper which is heard by him alone ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

Today I was going to do my yoga when I got home. I’d planned to come home after work and do day 3 of Cole Chance’s Yoga Week from Yoga TX video. But it was raining heavily, so my husband suggested I stay at work and do yoga until he finished an hour later and I could get a ride home with him (instead of walking!). So I quickly scribbled a routine down on a post-it note…IMG_20170317_195018251_HDR

But ended up adding in a few extra poses as I went along (like wide leg seated forward fold, revolved head to knee, reverse pigeon and standing half moon).

I’d been wanting to do my own routine for a little while, instead of just the videos…but thought it would take some time to write down a routine so always put it off, and went the easy route with doing a YouTube yoga video. But I scribbled this down and took it to the yoga room and I was amazed at how quickly I came up with the ‘base’ sequence to work from! And it was a great routine. I decided yesterday that I’m going to include one pose each day that is a challenging pose for me (such as dancer, bow, camel). Things that I usually avoid doing because I’m not comfortable doing them – for example with bow I can’t (yet!) grab my ankles. So that I can continue to grow from them.

I posted my post-it note routine to my Instagram account and got quite a few likes and comments on it!

I followed the asana with my pranayama exercises (the 4 purifications minus agni sar dhouti today  so alternate nostril breathin, kapala bhati, and ashwini mudra), ujjayi breath, brahmari breath and the 3 bandhas. Then I went home and finished up my practice with a 9 and a half minute meditation – day 4 of the 21 day meditation for weightloss challenge  – today’s topic/focus/mantra was I am vital/life force energy.

Leave a Reply

