Day 170

Your time is limited. Don’t waste it living someone else’s life ~ Steve Jobs

This morning I got up just after 6 but then spent about 20 minutes trying to find some morning yoga videsos to do. Eventually I ended up doing 3, approximately 20 minutes (around 18 mins) yoga videos each through Yoga TX on YouTube.

The first I did was: Morning Yoga For Beginners – Gentle & Relaxing Yoga for Energy and then I did Beginners Morning Yoga – Gentle and Energizing Morning Yoga Stretches and finally Beginners 20 minute Energizing Morning Flow. And then it was only 7:45 so it gave me a bit more extra time in bed afterwards!

I did my daily meditation (another loving kindness one) sitting in the car while my husband watched soccer training.

After I digested my lunch (lamb burger), I did my intermediate pranayama exercises (4 purifications, the bandhas and 5 rounds each of ujjayi and brahmari.

When we got the outline for the next few weeks we also had a Journaling and Reflection Time question:

Reflect on your first day of class and where you are today with your practice and understanding of the classical yoga tradition.

Compared to my first day of class, my understanding of yoga (the actual asanas or physical poses) and the historical/philosophical and spiritual understanding of yoga has increased a million times! (basically from hardly anything, to learning so much about the classical hatha yoga tradition (about pranayama, meditation, about the chakras (which I already knew about) about the Yamas and Niyamas (which I knew a little bit about before starting YTT), and exploring all the other 8 limbs of Ashtanga yoga, and it’s been very educational and enligtening. I’ve also really gotten into meditation and by extension, mindfulness, since starting the program – i’ve read quite a few books on mindfulness and meditation since, and the benefits of the practice. I’ve also learned lots of Sanskrit which I really enjoy – I know all the names of all the poses we’ve learned in the course which I’m really happy about.

I’ve also enjoyed learning all the different types of pranayama exercises – my favourite is Nadi Shodana, followed by Kapala Bhati. My least favourite is Agni Sar Dhouti.

My favourite meditation practice is the body scan (which we didn’t really do much in the program actually but which I mainly discovered through reading mindfulness/meditation books), followed by any of the mantra meditations (like loving kindness or so hum or something to focus the mind on – I find it easier to focus on a mantra than just the breath).

So my practice from before is lightyears away from what it is now – it is now more well rounded and defined, and I love the ritual and routine of it all (chanting om 3 times at the start). And i’m comfortable putting together my own sequences too.

There was a second part to the question:

How was the practice of yoga made a difference in your day to day life?

I think my daily yoga practice has made me more confident. It’s also made me more mindful, and less worrisome. I have been trying to remind myself to live in the moment more, and breath if I get stressed or worried. I also love how it gives me ‘me time’. Time to come to my little oasis, my little private island that is my mat and spend time moving my body and my breath. And spending time in meditation and being present and now, just focusing on my breath or a mantra has helped me …become more me. Become closer to my true self, my true nature. I think it has made a huge difference in my day to day life – mainly in reminding myself to live every moment – or be aware of every moment of life, no matter how small (i.e. appreciating hummingbirds at my birdfeeder) or big (finishing my Yoga Teacher Training program – very shortly!).

I just realized there is only 14 days left of the Yoga Teacher Training program! (and technically 13 days til my final exam/practicum!)

 

Leave a Reply

