Day 161

It is through your body that you realize you are a spark of divinity. ~ BKS Iyengar

I was wide awake at 4am this morning, and I said to my husband that I was, and he said for me to get up for a bit. But i didn’t want to, not at 4am, so I forced myself back to sleep and instead got up at 5:30, giving me plenty of time for a nice morning yoga practice before work! Today I did Yoga With Adriene’s Morning Yoga To Start Your Day, a great 27 minute routine that wakes up your body – and gives you a bit of time to wake up at the start and relax in sukhasana.

I got an email from one of my students saying that I should teach classes at my work once I’m certified, and that they would gladly pay to attend my classes! That made me feel great! So nice to hear that people would be willing to pay to take my classes!

One of my yoga teachers told us that you’ll get people coming up to you saying ‘I have this wrong with me, what can I do to fix it?!’ and man do these people really come out of the woodwork when they know you’re teaching yoga! 2 days ago after I finished my ‘bonus’ practicum class with a coworker, she told me of a nausea/dizziness thing she experiences in poses like balancing cat (so she can’t lift her leg up high), or cobra, she can’t lift her head far off the ground, and she was wondering if there was anything she could do for that. I said I wasn’t sure but it sounded more like an internal ear thing – like with the little ear crystals and hairs. or the little ear bones. And then today (2 days later) another person at my work came up to me and pointed to a spot to the right of her S1 joint, and said ‘I slipped and fell on the ice a couple weeks ago, is there any stretches I can do to help this area?’ and I told her I’d think about it and get back to her and then did some research and suggested some possible asana she could try – like figure 4/through the hole stretch and things to stretch the hips like Revolved Head to Knee and also side stretches, and simple things like even child’s pose  and forward fold to stretch and release the low back, and Marichiasana 3.

When I got home today I did my pranayama and bandha exercises because both my husband and dog were out of the house! And then I did today’s Sharon Salzberg meditation which was dealing with difficult emotions – and it had you focus on something that was sad or angry or whatever. So of course I thought about my mom, who passed away a year and a couple months ago. Which brought up a lot of sadness and made me start to cry, but the meditation asked you to focus on the bodily sensations that the thought of the situation brought up, and I also focused on my breathing. It was strange because I felt my ears get weirdly plugged up, and then felt tension in my shoulders and part of my upper back, so I breathed into those areas. It was cathartic in a way and interesting to just sit with those strong emotions and not judge or try to push them away but experience them. It was very interesting and a definite learning experience!

Leave a Reply

