Day 157

Be Yourself. Life is precious as it is. All the elements for your happiness are already here. There is no need to run, strive, search, or struggle. Just Be. ~ Thich Nhat Hahn

I love this quote by Thich Nhat Hahn. A reminder to just BE.

This morning I ‘slept in’, and got up at 7am to do my yoga – I was wondering what the new Yoga With Adriene short video would be today on her YouTube Channel, and it was a 10 minute Yoga For Self Care, which was exactly what I needed today! And a little later in the morning, after I’d had breakfast I felt like doing some more yoga, so did another Cole Chance video, a 30 minute flexibility and deep stretch sequence. It was great, really stretching out my hips, spine and side body!

Today’s Sharon Salzberg meditation is called the ‘drinking tea’ meditation, where you focus on a single activity (like drinking tea or brushing your teeth or checking your email) and really be in that moment, noticing how it feels, noticing how you feel, seein if you are holding tension, if you’re drinking tea feeling the cup, the warmth, tasting the tea – really tasting it. Just using every day routine activities as a way to be more present, more mindful in your daily life. So next time you’re drinking a cup of tea (or coffee!) try to pause and really drink the tea, observe everything about it – the smell, the feel, the taste, the shape of the cup in your hand…

Later in the day, when my husband was having a nap, I did my pranayama exercises and bandhas. And I did a 20 minute body scan meditation just before having my own nap (and when I got up that’s when my husband decided to come up and have a nap himself!)

I just read a great article from Yoga International called ‘20 Reasons You Can’t Do Yoga (and Why None of them are True)

Leave a Reply

