Day 155

You must not lose faith in humanity. Humanity is like an ocean; if a few drops of the ocean are dirty, the ocean doesn’t become dirty ~ Ghandi

I woke up at 6:30 this morning after a nightmare/dream about my mom – I had failed a test and was calling her, and trying to tell her, and she was talking to me but I couldn’t make out what she was saying. So I woke up feeling upset, so decided just to get up and do my yoga. Today’s yoga practice was Yoga With Adriene’s 30 minute Yoga For The Winter Blues. I don’t have depression, but I am sick of the snow we’ve been having – which is very unusual for this part of the country – at least as much as we’ve been getting! (which I’m sure the rest of the country is still laughing at us and saying ‘you think THAT is snow?!’. Anyways, I think all of us west coasters are sick and tired of the snow, thank you very much! I was very grateful and thankful walking to work today on 100% clear (for the most part, there were a few small patches) of sidewalk – free of ice and snow and slush! granted, there’s still lots of snow on the ground on either side of the sidewalks, but it makes my ‘commute’ to work SO much easier! The simple things you take for granted! Anyway, that’s why I felt like doing that specific Yoga With Adriene video for my practice today because I’m tired of the snow!

This morning after yoga I tried Oil Pulling after someone posted something about it on Facebook. Apparently it’s an ancient ayurvedic practice (so this can maybe be part of my dinacharya – my daily routine!). Here’s an article about it and it’s benefits  but apparently it’s supposed to help oral issues (gums, cavities, whiten teeth) it’s antisceptic (coconut oil anyway) so it’s a great mouthwash. So I gave it a try and put a tablespoon of solid coconut oil in my mouth (ugg!) and let it melt into a liquid (which took longer than I thought!). And I thought 1 tablespoon sounded like a lot, and it is (especially when it mixes with your saliva and grows more) but it’s manageable! You’re supposed to do it for 15-20 minutes, but I just did it for 10 minutes this morning to start, and sat there swishing while I read stuff online. It wasn’t too horrible, and my mouth did feel good afterwards (after rinsing my mouth and then brushing my teeth – and spitting the oil in the garbage not down the sink!)

Today’s Sharon Salzberg meditation is another walking meditation where I spent 7 minutes this time walking around the downstairs of my house from living room to kitchen, stepping around my dog each time. Then I did my pranayama and bandhas, while my husband was upstairs napping and waiting for dinner (beef stew with cream of mushroom mashed potatoes to finish cooking).

Today was another Hogwart’s Running Club Hufflepuff Bendy Badger Saturday, and the article I shared was a cutely drawn 24 yoga poses for beginners article.

Leave a Reply

