Day 134

Success is not final, failure is not fatal, it is the courage to continue that counts ~ Winston Churchill

The question isn’t how many licks does it take to get to the centre of a tootsie pop it’s how many hours of yoga can you do in one day? The answer, about 4 hours is enough!
We started today with a brief warm up (neck rolls, spinal circles, leg/arm/head/collarbone/sternum massage, wood chopper exercise, standing spinal twist, arm circles, shoulder circles, inhaling arms up and down) and chanting of the gayatri mantra (which simply translated means : “O Divine mother, our hearts are filled with darkness. Please make this darkness distant from us and promote illumination within us”, and some inspiration to help us get into the mind set of teachers for the day!
Today I did my midterm practical exam. I was supposed to go third (better than last (8th!) but the second person was having technical issues (she didn’t have her class plan printed and the college couldn’t get it printed for some reason, so there was a delay for a few mins trying to sort it out – so I jumped at the opportunity and offered to go second – purely for selfish reasons! I wanted to get it over with as soon as possible! My timeslot was then 10am til 10:30 since the first person started at 9:15 to 9:45 followed by 10 minutes of evaluation and then 5 minute change over to the next person (me!). I’m proud of myself for volunteering to go second, because I was really nervous, but also I think very brave! (plus it stopped any more delays!). The first woman who taught was so great, so it was a tough act to follow but I did ok! I talked a bit fast (a habit of mine anyway) but slower than usual. And the main feedback I got was to offer the contraindications BEFORE getting into the poses – and sometimes I’d forget and offer them once people had already gotten into the pose. Oops! But the verbal feedback from the evaluator (what I remember of it – it’s all a bit of a blur now!) was positive. They asked us how we felt it went. I said ok. I ended up going through my class a bit quicker than planned so had to throw in a few more poses at the end…But I guess that’s not the end of the world! (Right?). I was nervous and my mouth was dry the entire time, but i’m proud of myself for doing it and I KNOW I can do it….but having someone sitting there judging/evaluating you is stressful!
I got good feedback from my fellow students too (on a written evaluation form) – they said I had a good sense of humour and good cues. Overall it was a positive experience. A learning and growing experience. And I learned so much from the 7 other teaching students in my group! We did so many Warrior 2s and downward facing dogs and side angle poses today! In the last 2 classes I took a couple breaks resting in child’s pose or sukhasana (sitting with crossed legs) or vajrasana (thunderbolt) because we were all getting tired (and hungry!) by 3:30 and 4 in the afternoon having started at 9:15! When 4:30 came around, we were all ready for our tea break and some food (and tea!) and I will admit to having 2 chocolate chip cookies (homemade!) and 2 little bits of scone (a small chunk of cinnamon and a small berry). Oh and some fruit and veggies and humus too of course!
I was annoyed that I forget my lunch today in the fridge so had to go out and get something.  My mind was on today and getting my lunch before I left the house totally slipped my mind!
I had briefly thought about trying to do today’s YWA and/or Wanderlust Video tonight but that would just be insanity! So I’m going to go home, let my poor dog out who had been alone since 7:40 this morning, eat the other half of the burrito I got for lunch for dinner and then have an Epsom salt bath because I’m already starting to feel it in my legs! (Yikes! Imagine how I’ll feel tomorrow!).
We ended today that was crammed full of asana practice with a 10-15 minute shavasana (which we all really really needed!) and then chanting of the Mahamrityunjaya Mantra which goes like this:

Om Tryambakam Yajamahe
Sugandhim Pushtivardhanam
Urvarukamiva Bandhanan
Mrityor Mukshiya Maamritat

We Meditate on the Three-eyed reality
Which permeates and nourishes all like a fragrance.
May we be liberated from death for the sake of immortality,
Even as the cucumber is severed from bondage to the creeper.

Today’s Hogwarts Running Club post I shared was 5 reasons you should practice yoga
And now I am going to RELAX and enjoy my night with some reading tonight and have an early night (seeing how was awake for 2 hours in the middle of the night last night between 2 and 4am, running over today and my class plan in my head!) before heading back to Yoga Teacher Training all day tomorrow where we’ll be doing more anatomy and learning about seniors and kids yoga – and HOPEFULLY not too much actual yoga asana!
Leave a Reply

