Day 128

Synchronicity is an ever present reality for those who have eyes to see it ~ Carl Jung

Wow yesterday seemed to be the day of pyramid pose! (hence the quote today). In the class I took yesterday (an 80 minute vigorous hatha class ) we also did pyramid (along with YWA and the Wanderlust video – whha? so weird! because you don’t get pyramid pose too often in yoga classes (at least in my experience!)). The day before was hip opener day (another thing that was synchronistic!).

Yesterday’s hatha class at a local studio was really great – but my muscles were tired from my practice in the morning so when we did a tree to eagle to balancing half moon sequence, my legs did not want to keep me balanced! I kept falling over. There was a lot of prayer twists too – in low and high lunge, so that was tiring. And warrior 2. I was a bit distracted the whole class because I left my cell phone in my mat bag in the other room, and I was worried that someone might steal it! Because I didn’t put my mat bag in my cubby space with the rest of my stuff, I just left it leaning up against the storage spaces. But I had nothing to worry about because when the class finished (though I was tempted a few times during class to run out and check that my phone was still there and safe) it was still there (phew!). I’ll know for next time to remember to store my mat bag and cell phone safely with the rest of my stuff!

I slept in today (because isn’t that what Sundays are for?) and got up at 8am for my yoga practice starting with the Wanderlust challenge video day 7.

The Wanderlust challenge poses we’ve done so far:

DAY 1:
Pose #1: Mountain Pose (Tadasana)
Pose #2: Upward Salute (Urdhva Hastasana)
Pose #3: Downward Facing Dog (Adho Mukha Svanasana)
Bonus Pose!: Corpse Pose (Savasana)

DAY 2:
Pose #4: Forward Bend (Uttanasana)
Pose #5: Crecent Lunge (Anjenayasana)
Pose #6: Plank Pose (Kumbhakasana)

DAY 3:
Pose #7: Cat Pose (Marjaryasana)
Pose #8: Cow Pose (Bitilasana)
Pose #9: Child’s Pose (Balasana)

DAY 4:
Pose #10: 8 Limbed Pose/Knees, Chest, Chin (Ashtangasana)
Pose #11: Cobra Pose (Bhujangasana)
Pose #12: Half Wheel (Setu Bandhasana) – that’s what she called Bridge Pose!

DAY 5:
Pose #13: Standing Ankle to Knee & Tree Pose (Vrksasana)
Pose #14: Pigeon Pose (Rajakapotasana)
Pose #15: Happy Baby (Ananda Balasana)

DAY 6:
Pose #16: Chair Pose (Utkatasana)
Pose #17: High Lunge / Crescent Lunge
Pose #18: Intense Side Stretch or Pyramid Pose (Parsvottanasana)

And today we did:

DAY 7:
Pose #19: Modified Revolving Extended Side Angle (Parvritti Parsvakonasana)
Pose #20: Revolving Chair (Parvritti Utkatasana)
Pose #21: Reclining Spinal Twist (Supta Matseyandrasana)

Today’s Yoga With Adriene Revolution video (Day 15) was Fearless Practice. Man was I sweaty after both the Wanderlust video and all the twists (as well as incorporating the twist into the flow we’ve done so far) and then YWA’s video. The shirt I was wearing was so damp I was cold so I had to change into something dry before doing my 4 pranayama practices and bandha practice (haha, bandha practice) and then my meditation! (I did the so hum meditation and had a blanket over me to help with my chillyness.)

Then I went back to bed for a bit to warm up and rest for a bit. Man my legs are tired today from all the yoga yesterday!

I also practiced the 30 minute asana sequence I put together that I’m going to be teaching next weekend – my ‘Root To Rise’ theme. And i’m so proud, I just went through it all, imagining I was teaching it, and I ended up doing it in exactly 30 minutes! without having to cut out any poses or anything!  I’m so proud! Plus, I think it’s a great sequence.

 

 

Leave a Reply

