Day 115

The object of a new year is not that we should have a new year. It is that we should have a new soul ~ G. K. Chesterton

Today I wanted to sleep in until 8am, but that didn’t happen. My back started to get achey, so I got up at 7:40 and gladly went downstairs to do some yoga. I did 3 different videos equalling 50 minutes of yoga!

I started with Sarah Beth Yoga’s Day 2 of her 30 day yoga challenge – a 10 minute mindful morning routine – perfect to wake up my body before the other 2 videos!

Then I did the first of Bad Yogi’s ‘I AM’ challenge where each day is a new mantra. Today’s mantra is I am Powerful, and we did some strong standing poses, like Goddess and Warrior 3.

Then finally I did day 2 of Yoga With Adriene’s 31 day Revolution – and her theme was to Practice Intention – moving with intention, breathing with intention, moving slowly and mindfully in each pose and transitioning to each pose. It was a great reminder to focus with intention on everything we do in yoga, instead of just rushing through everything and not really thinking or feeling about what we’re doing. Today’s video was 31 minutes.

After my 50 minutes of yoga, I did my meditation chant, then my pranayama practice (all exercises), then did a 5 minute body scan meditation (one of my favourite types of meditation) and then 5 minutes of meditation from my Simple Habit App. Day 2 of a 31 day meditation challenge for the month.

I finished everything at 9:30. I’d been up for 2 hours and hadn’t even had breakfast yet! So I was hungry for breakfast by the time I was done!

I’m going to have a green smoothie today at the mall, in a bid to have something healthy after the last few weeks of eating on a ‘holiday diet’!

Leave a Reply

