Day 113

Be kind to yourself in the year ahead.
Remember to forgive yourself, and to forgive others. It’s too easy to be outraged these days, so much harder to change things, to reach out, to understand.
Try to make your time matter: minutes and hours and days and weeks can blow away like dead leaves, with nothing to show but time you spent not quite ever doing things, or time you spent waiting to begin.
Meet new people and talk to them. Make new things and show them to people who might enjoy them.
Hug too much. Smile too much. And, when you can, love. ~ Neil Gaiman
Today is the last day of 2016. And even though the above quote from author Neil Gaiman is from 2014, it still applies. Good advice for everyone. Something to keep in mind daily (easier said than done!).
Today is day 365 of my daily yoga goal! I made it! And I hope to continue it next year in 2017 with my personal practice and also starting with YWA’s (yoga with Adriene) 31 day Yoga Revolution tomorrow.
I ended my 365 days of yoga with YWA Stretch and Soothe video from her 30 days of yoga challenge of last year.
I woke up at 6:30, did the half hour video, and then decided to do my meditation and pranayama practice with the light off – it was very dark! Strange to do it in pitch black, but I wanted to give it a try. Finished about 7:40am,  but because my dad still wasn’t up, I went back to sleep for another half hour and got up at 8:15 and got the day started!
Last night I did a 20 minute yoga for bedtime video also by Yoga With Adriene. And I was surprised at how far down I was able to get my knees in Siddhasana pose (a variation of crossed legs pose where you tuck your heels into your groin, and place one in front of the other).
I went and had another short visit with my grandma. Haven’t seen her in awhile, and wanted to because she’s 93 and I’m not sure when the next time I’ll be back over here will be! And you never know…
Glad I saw my dad too, because he has pacemaker surgery in 2 weeks, and again you never know. Even though he’s planning on coming over to visit next weekend I’ll only see him briefly.
I’m proud of myself for sticking to my daily yoga practice for the entire year. Some days were more of a challenge than others to get on my mat, but for the most part I looked forward to it, especially once we started our meditation practice when I started my Yoga Teacher Training program in September. Both my yoga and meditation practices became welcome refuge after the daily grind of work and/or life in general.
And I’m looking forward to continuing daily ypga, working on designing more of my own daily practices but also with the help of various online yoga teachers I follow on social media (Yoga With Adriene, Bad Yogi, Sarah Beth Yoga, Journey Junkie etc) who are all doing yoga challenges (mostly month long) starting tomorrow.
My intention/resolution for 2017 is the first words by Mr Gaiman above – be kind to myself….or in other words –  ahimsa in yogic philosophy – non-harming (to myself and others).
Much love for the new year.
Leave a Reply

