Day 105

Letting go gives us freedom. And freedom is the only condition for happiness ~ Thich Nhat Hahn

Okay, I’ll admit it. I’m loving the beautiful words and gentle wisdom of Thich Nhat Hahn at the moment! I’m going to have to read more/all of his books, I think!

Today I had to go to the passport office (i didn’t end up going the other day after all…because…that would have meant leaving the house! ha) which was fine because I had to pick up a last minute christmas present today for my husband anyway after work so it al worked out. But after an hour waiting to renew my passport (which, when I got called up to the counter, the process took all of 2 minutes!).

Anyway, when I got home, there was nothing more I wanted to do than to get down and dirty and do my yoga practice!

Today I did my week 4 ‘class’ of my series. And this time I talked everything out, from the very beginning. I timed the hour using my Insight Timer and set it to end with a bell with 1 minute to go. But I didn’t end up timing very well because I ran out of time to do a full shavasana and meditation at the end! (I only did about a 3 minute shavasana instead of 5, and a 4 minute meditation instead of 5-7) to keep it on an hour – OOPS! So I’ll have to be more aware of that when the time comes. But I think it’s because I did both a modified and a full fish pose. And maybe I was too slow going through the sun salutations at the beginning. Eek. Oh well, you live and learn, right?

This was my practice today:

Pranayama: 8-10 mins – Ujjayi, Dirgha Rechak and Dirgha Purak (long exhale and inhale)

Warm Ups: 8 mins – Neck rolls, Side Stretch, Wrist and Ankle Rotations, Leg cradle, shoulder circles

  1. Surya Namaskara – Sun saluations (3 rounds)
  1. Virabhadrasana 2 – Warrior 2 to Ardha Chandrasana – Standing ½ moon to Warrior 2
  1. Tadasana – Mountain to Virabhadrasana 3 – Warrior 3 to Mountain to Warrior 3
  1. Durgasana – Goddess pose to Vrikhshasana – tree to goddess
  1. Malasana – move feet in closer and squat down (or forward fold and then squat) – radiating chest up then sit down
  1. Bhagerasana –Tiger
  1. Salabhasana – Locust pose – warm up and then full
  1. Balasana – Child’s pose to Vajrasana – Thunderbolt to seated
  1. Navasana – Boat pose
  1. Upavista Konasana – Wide Leg seated forward fold
  1. Matsyasana – Fish pose (full or supported)
  1. 1 leg wind releasing
  1. Wind Releasing
  1. Ananda Balasana – Happy Baby pose

Shavasana: 5 minutes (walking through feeling the support of whole body on the mat)

Meditation: Breathe in: I am Breathe Out: a positive word: strong, happy, content, confident

Close: Om

Quote about Radiating: at your center, in the eye of your storm you have the ability to reach out in any direction, mastering your thoughts and emotions, and your life in every moment.

I’m going to do another separate meditation too, just before my husband gets home!

Leave a Reply

