Day 102

Adopt the pace of nature. Her secret is patience ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

Today is the first day of winter! And it’s still looking winter outside, because the forecast rain hasn’t happened to wash away all the snow – it was nice and sunny today! And you have to be patient for sure in winter with all the snow!

We got our daily sadhana practice outline today for the Christmas holidays.

First is Dinacharya or daily routine for which we got a hand out outlining examples of what we should do in the mornings (all before breakfast!) which include:

  1. Wake Up Early in the Morning – okay I can do that. I do that anyway. Well, early being 6am. Not crazy early like 4:30am.
  2. . Say a Prayer before Leaving the Bed  – Okay, I’m not religious, so I wouldn’t start a prayer saying “Dear God,” as the hand out says, but I would do an intention, an affirmation for the day – something positive like: Thank you for this beautiful day and may love and compassion be part of my life today.
  3. Clean the Face, Mouth, and Eyes Splash your face with cold water and rinse out your mouth. – That’s easily done
  4. Drink Water in the Morning  – it says to do this instead of coffee or tea. But I like my coffee!
  5. Evacuation Sit, or better squat, on the toilet and have a bowel movement. – I’m not squatting to go to the bathroom
  6. Scrape your Tongue. This stimulates the internal organs, helps digestion, and removes dead bacteria. – I’ve started to do this
  7. Clean your Teeth – Obviously
  8. Gargling To strengthen teeth, gums, and jaw, improve the voice and remove wrinkles from cheeks, gargle twice a day with warm sesame oil. – Nope, i’m not gargling with warm oil, thank you very much! (even though I’ve heard it’s a thing. It’s just not going to be my thing).
  9. Chewing  – Chewing a handful of sesame seeds helps receding gums and strengthens teeth. Alternatively, chew 3-5 dried dates and an inch of dried coconut meat.  – I love dates. I can eat some dates! Apparently chewing in the morning stimulates the liver and the stomach and improves digestive fire. After chewing, brush the teeth again without using toothpaste or powder.
  10. Nasal Drops (Nasya) Putting 3 to 5 drops of warm ghee or oil into each nostril in the morning helps to lubricate the nose, clean the sinuses, and improve voice, vision, and mental clarity. – Yeah, I can understand the benefits, but again, nope, not for me!
  11. Oil Drops in the Ears (Karana purana) Conditions such as ringing in the ears, excess ear wax, poor hearing, lockjaw, and TMJ – Putting 5 drops of warm sesame oil in each ear can help these disorders. – okay, sure. But I don’t have any of those conditions so until I do, no thank you!
  12. Apply Oil to the Head & Body (Abhyanga) Rub warm oil over the head and body. – this sounds nice. I haven’t done it yet though.
  13. Bathing – Bathing is cleansing and refreshing. It removes sweat, dirt, and fatigue, brings energy to the body, clarity to the mind, and holiness to your life. – This is common sense really.
  14. Dressing – Wearing clean clothes brings beauty and virtue. – Yep, I get that
  15. Use of Perfumes Using natural scents, essential oils, or perfumes brings freshness, charm, and joy.
  16. Exercise – Regular exercise, especially yoga, improves circulation, strength, and endurance. It helps one relax and have sound sleep, and improves digestion and elimination.- Yep, and I do this every day! (yoga that is)
  17. Pranayama After exercise, sit quietly and do some deep breathing exercises – I do this daily too!
  18. Meditation It is important to meditate morning and evening for at least 15 minutes. Meditate in the way you are accustomed- again, a new daily custom, since starting my Yoga Teacher Training
  19. Now it is time for your breakfast! – Does this mean I’ll be eating my breakfast at noon after doing all of this?! Haha, just kidding. But really, the whole daily routine, if you did everything, seems to take awhile!

 

Then we’re supposed to do 2 different  Meditations: Chanting of the Gayatri Mantra 5x  and  Meditation on Sensation in the Body for 10-20 minutes a day

For the asana portion of daily practice we’re supposed to  review, practice and use verbal cues for the asanas, and then we’re supposed to create 30 minute sequences from the various categories, keeping in mind moving the spine in all directions and also keep in mind the concept of flow in sequencing and transitions. We need to earn to embody the practice from the inside out and learn to teach from a lived experience.

Today’s yoga practice I did my Week 2 Class – Support or ‘Root To Rise’, focusing on foundation.

1 Balasana –  Child’s pose (or Uttitha Balasana – extended child)

2 Bhagerasana – Tiger

3  Adho Mukha Svanasana –  Downward Facing Dog

{transition from crouching to standing: walk hands up to feet in Uttanasana – Forward Fold to Tadasana}

4 Virabradrasana 2 – Warrior 2 → Parsvakonasana – Side angle (R)

{transition Tadasana}

5 Virabradrasana  2 – Warrior 2 → Parsvakonasana – Side angle (L)

6 Tadasana (dynamic) – Palm Tree

7 Vrikshasana – Tree *peak pose

{transition to the ground – Uttanasana – forward fold to Chaturanga Dandasana – Plank}

  8 Bhujangasana – Cobra  to Child’s pose (as counter pose)

{transition Table top/Neutral cat}

9 Vajrasana –Thunderbolt

{transition to seated}          

10 Dandasana – Staff

11 Parivrtta Janu Shirsasana – Revolved Head to knee

{transition to supine and inversions – from seated move onto your back}

12 Setubandhasana – Bridge

13 Pavan Muktanasana – Wind Releasing

14 Jathara Parivartanasana – Revolved Belly (both knees)

15 Ananda Balasana – Happy Baby

Shavasana: 5 minutes (walking through feeling the support of whole body on the mat)

Meditation: So Hum meditation (I am) 5-7 minutes

Journal Question: Take a moment to reflect on what you would like your students to take away from the classes that you facilitate. Write about the qualities that you have that you would like to draw on to create this type of learning context.

I would like my students to come away refreshed, relaxed, and ready to continue with the rest of their day/week! To do this I’d draw on my calm and quiet and reassuring nature (at least I’d like to thing so!) and hopefully  offer some inspiring words of wisdom as well – like the quote I’ll read at the end of each session! I want to inspire and uplift, and also help people to relax and de-stress. I hope i’ll be calm enough for a relaxing class! I’m sure after the first week, i’ll be fine. I’ve already got 3 people to agree to my 4 week series! (and I need a minimum of 3-5 people which I’m sure I’ll get).

 

 

Leave a Reply

