Day 101

We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence then is not an act but a habit ~ Aristotle

Today was a cold, slushy day of melting snow which made is a slog to and from work today (despite my ‘commute’ only being a couple of blocks – but if felt like a much longer walk!). So I was very glad to make it home (after stepping in a puddle as deep as a lake on my trip into work, but thankfully the lake wasn’t as deep on my walk home), and I decided earlier today that I was going to do the first week of my 4 week yoga class series (and do the other routines the rest of the week!).

My first week’s theme is BREATHE and it’s all about the breath – a gentle, relaxing, restorative practice which is as follows:

Pranayama: 8-10 mins –  3 part breath (Full Yogic Breath), Ujjayi

Warm Ups:  Neck Rolls, Arm extend out and up, side stretch, hip circles and knee circles

1 Tadasana – Mountain to Uttanasana – Forward fold

2 Sukhasana – Easy Pose

3 Parivritta Siddhasana – Cross Legs Twist

4 Baddha Konasana – Bound Angle with flapping wings and gentle fold forward

5 Marjariasana – Cat to Balasana – Child’s pose – Marjariasana – Cat pose

6 Thread the Needle to neutral table top

7 Dolphin Pose then lower knees to lie on stomach

8 Salambhujangasana – Sphinx

9 Makarasana – Crocodile Pose

10 Uttitha Balasana – Extended Child’s pose + lateral side stretch

11 Through The Hole Stretch (reverse pigeon)

12 Matsyasana -Supported Fish with a bolster

13 1 Leg wind releasing to Revolved belly (1 side)

14 1 leg wind releasing (other side) to Revolved belly (other side)

I ended with a nice long Shavasana and then a 5 minute meditation focusing on the natural breath. Then I closed with OM and read this quote about breathing:

Breathing in I calm body and mind. Breathing out I smile. Dwelling in the present moment, I know this is the only moment. ~ Thich Naht Hahn

I have to say I really enjoyed the practice (though I might just be a little bit biased!).

Leave a Reply

