Day 78

Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there ~ Will Rogers

Today’s yoga teacher training in-class intensive started with a ‘pop-quiz’ of sorts of inviting some of us up to the front of the class to guide the class through some warm ups! 6 of us went up – including myself – where I chose one of my favourite warm up exercises – the percussive leg massage: with your legs stretched out in front of you, make your hands into fists and gently pound up and down your entire legs (thigh, shins, even hips) and slap your low back gently as well. And then also massaging up and down the arms as well.

Other people did: spinal circles, wrist and ankle rotations, lateral side stretch, some shoulder rolls and shrugs, and a shoulder clock exercise (moving your arm from 12 o’clock, to 1, 2 and 3 o’clock (if it’s comfortable for you), and from 12, to 11, to 10 to 9 o’clock.

Then we were lead in our morning sadhana by one of our teachers- which involved us going through all our pranayama exercises (the 4 purifications and Ujjayi and Brahmari and Long Inhale and Exhale), and did some warm up exercises before being lead into a shavasana and then into a yoga practice which involved: starting in child’s pose, moving to cat cow to warm up, and then into downward dog, then Uttanasana (forward fold) and Warriors 1 and 2 and triangle pose and side angle pose and Balancing Half Moon (using a block for stability), and Wide Legged Forward fold. I think there were possibly some other poses in there too, but the whole thing seems so long ago!

Then we did our mid-term exam – on our knowledge of the philosophy and other aspects of the practice and study of yoga – followed by lunch time, then 2 hours of anatomy where we learned a whole lot about the Central Nervous System and the Endocrine System.

Then we had tea break – where my chocolate avocado cupcakes with date frosting were a huge hit and pretty much everyone asked me for the recipe! It made my day! 🙂 (the recipe is here. But I used oat flour instead of regular flour and I made my own chocolate date frosting: dates (about 1/2 a cup), cocoa powder (about 2 tablespoons) and non-dairy milk (I used unsweetened vanilla cashew – about 1/4 cup – or use until you get a good frosting consistency).

We ended the day by teaching a partner a 30 minute holistic yoga class which was broken down by:

Starting with Om, doing 2 pranayama exercises, 5 asanas, including warm up and cool down, and then ending with shavasana and closing the practice.

I taught my partner first, starting the ‘class’ with 3 Om’s, and my 2 pranayama exercises was Alternate Nostril Breathing and Ujjayi breath. The warm ups I chose were: neck rolls, side stretch, and leg massage.

And the class I designed (which we had 20 minutes to do it in!) was:

Cat Cow to Down Dog to Forward Fold and up to Tadasana (Mountain), and then to Warrior one pose, then back down to the ground with another forward fold, into a plank, and then locust pose, then to a crossed leg twist, and to wind releasing pose and then finally shavasana (okay that was more than 5 asanas but anyway). And….I was also 4 minutes short with my class time of 30 minutes! So was given advice on how to fill it: either with meditation, or talk about yoga philosophy, or getting feedback on how people are feeling after the class etc.

Overall it was a good day! I think I did really well on the exam (there was only 1 question that wasn’t very clear that I was confused about).

Tomorrow apparently we are going to be moving a lot – doing a lot of asana! It should be interesting!

Leave a Reply

