Day 70

With self-discipline, most anything is possible. ~Theodore Roosevelt

Today is the 70th day of my Yoga Teacher Training, and also 322 of daily yoga (since January 1st of this year). At the beginning of the program, the teachers said yoga is a discipline. Something you learn to do daily, that becomes part of your life. I am a very disciplined person (for the most part!) so I find sticking to a routine fairly easy (though some days are easier than others!).

I slept a lot last night. Like A LOT. We went for a ‘nap’ at 8:30 because we were both tired. I woke up about 11:30 for about half an hour and then went back to bed and woke up at 8am! That’s almost unheard of for me, sleeping so long. Usually I wake up about 6 or 7am.

I waited for my husband to leave for work just before 9am before doing my yoga practice, and by the time I started it, I was hungry. I had a hard time concentrating on my daily sadhana, and had thought about getting breakfast after I finished the pranayama breathing exercises, and before I practised my postures. But then I thought, no, if I do that I would have to wait a while to digest before coming back to it, and I really wanted to do it all together as a daily ‘ritual’, if I could. So I pushed through and did warm up exercises (starting from the top down: neck rolls, shoulder circles, shoulder shrugs, spinal circles, side stretch, leg massage, and ankle and wrist rotations), followed by my postures . And I really wanted to do one of the Bad Yogi challenge videos (a full body flexibility flow – because everything hurt this morning after sleeping so long – my back, my hips, my head – so I needed something to work me out and stretch me out!). I thought to myself, it’s only 14 minutes, then I can eat.

So I ended up doing everything (except the meditation which I will do as soon as I post this blog! I tried to do it while lying in bed this morning but meditating in bed = sleep haha), and being disciplined to finish everything before finally eating breakfast about 10am.

The members of our small yoga teaching sub-group/practice group have all been so loving and supportive. I mentioned that the one year anniversary of my mom’s passing is coming up next month, and one of the girls shared with me a lovely quote from the Bhagvad Gita, a quote by Lord Krisha (God of Love) that she says has got her through times when she misses people who have moved onto the non-physical:

“The Soul Migrates From Body to Body. Weapons Cannot Cleave it, Nor Fire Consume It, Nor Water Drench It, Nor Wind Dry it.”  – Krishna

Isn’t that beautiful? and something I need to remember as the date nears in mid-December.

I’m looking forward to tonight’s guest speaker.

Namaste to all who are reading my blog!

Leave a Reply

