Day 64

Self trust is the first secret to success ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

I need to heed the above quote by Emerson. To trust myself. To have more confidence in myself that I know what I’m doing and what I’m talking about.

Last night I technically taught my first  yoga class to 4 of my fellow Yoga Teacher Training students! Well, not a FULL class (om, meditation, breathing exercises), but I did a 30 minute asana practice with them, and lead them through some warm ups to start (neck rolls, spine circles, leg massage, wrist and foot rotations). I think it went well. I was a bit nervous because I’ve never done anything like that in my life! and it was hard to try and remember to tell them all the crucial cues for the poses, and remember to also observe them and make any corrections. It’s hard to do all that!

The room we rented in the community centre was small – just enough room for the 5 of us, but it was nice and had 3 large purple fabric panels on the wall (my favourite colour! 🙂 ).

I had to not do one of the poses I’d planned for time purposes. I was going to go through Bridge pose, but if I had I would’ve run out of time. I got some feedback at the end of class. I’m very proud of myself. I’ve never done anything like that before in my life and I’m a fairly shy person. It was nice to teach a small group of friends, as it made it more comfortable, and hopefully will put me at ease for when I teach in front of the whole class later on in the program!

One of the other girls in the program ran through her 30 minute class plan first, a very energizing/strengthening 30 minutes of standing postures (because she thought we were only supposed to do standing poses!), and she threw in a few things she had taken away from a couple of Iyengar (a style of yoga that uses a lot of props and supporting) classes.

The other 3 students there, who didn’t have class plans, will run through them when we meet again this coming Tuesday, a little early in the evening this time though. One of the other girls did guide us through a yoga nidra session (a guided full body relaxation  – though I found it hard to relax because the room was very cold at the end!), which was a great way to end the night. The two hours we booked the room for FLEW by!

It was a great learning experience. Trial by fire really! As I said, I think next time I teach my fellow students I’ll feel much more comfortable and at ease. But I’m happy that I was less nervous than I thought I would be, because I was a bit anxious/apprehensive about attending the 1st practice session/get together last night!

I woke up this morning around 7:15 and got up at around 7:30 because my back was in agony from how I had been lying, so I didn’t think I’d be able to go back to sleep easily. So instead I got up an did my yoga practice, including a 10 minute morning yoga video I found on youtube.

The article I posted today on the Hogwart’s Running Club Hufflepuff common room on facebook was all about different styles/types of yoga for the beginner, because all the different kinds can seem very overwhelming!

And now I’m off to get ready to head out and get my hair cut and coloured (long overdue!)

Namaste all

Leave a Reply

