Day 58

Every moment is a fresh beginning ~ T.S. Eliot

Woke up at 7:15 this morning (which was 8:15 thanks to the clocks going back last night for winter solstice  – extra sleep! yay!), and I did my daily yoga practice, including making myself a cup of hot lemon water to kickstart my digestion.

I went through all the pranayama (breathing) exercises:

Alternate Nostril Breathing – for clearing the energy channels of the body and helping immune system and digestion

Kapala Bhati (skull shining) – for cleansing the sinuses)

Agni Sar Dhouti (fire wash) – for improving digestion

Ashvini Mudra (horse seal) – for strengthening the pelvic floor and moving stagnant energy upwards

Ujjayi breath (3 variations) – victorious breath – it sounds like the ocean

Brahmari Breath (bee humming breath) – I did a variation of plugging my ears while exhaling with a humming sound to hear it inside my head

Dirgha Rechak – Breathing with an extended exhale

Dirgha Purak – Breathing with an extended inhale (much harder!)

Then I chose a couple warm ups to do: neck rolls, wrist and ankle rotations, hip circles, leg massage (hitting legs gently with fists), arm extension (interlocking hands and lifting your arms overhead and back down again), and side lateral stretch to stretch the sides of my body.

I then moved to practice all the crouching postures:

Malasana – squatting pose

Vajrasana – Thunderbolt

Marjariasana – Cat pose (and it’s 2 variations – balancing cat and thread the needle)

Bhagerasana – Tiger pose

Adho Mukha Svanasana – Downward Facing Dog (which everyone who knows anythin about yoga knows!) also called Mountain Pose

Dolphin – a variation of Downward Facing Dog

Balasana and Utthita Balasana – Child’s Pose and Extended Child’s Pose

Kapotasana – Pigeon pose (a very intense hip stretch!)

Reverse Pigeon – also known as Through The Hole Stretch – which is done lying on your back and I find much easier (though still intense!) than Pigeon

I ended my practice with my 10 minutes of Loving Kindness meditation (on my new cushion!)

And shortly I’m about to head out to a free (by donation) yoga class at a nearby mall! That I can use as on of my 15 class evaluations for my YTT program! I will report on that later today. (Edit: I will comment on the Hatha class in tomorrow’s post!)

Leave a Reply

