Day 53

Stress is caused by being ‘here’ but wanting to be ‘there’ ~ Eckhart Tolle

I had a very enlightening commute (aka walk) to work this morning. I was thinking about stress. And then I realized that there’s really no need for me to stress about stuff – because what will be will be.

And I’ve learned from yoga teacher training that the past is in the past, the future has yet to come so all we have is the present moment…and in the present moment we just do. We just be, and not to worry about what is coming up later today, tomorrow, next week or whatever! Which then got me to thinking about (and stressing over!) teaching yoga, and how I’d be nervous teaching in front of people, and then I thought to myself, I shouldn’t stress about that either! because teaching yoga isn’t really about me, the teacher, it’s about you (any potential students!). It’s about your experience and what you get out of the class based on my words as the teacher. So I should teach from my heart and not get stuck in my head and worry and stress about what I’m saying, as long as I’m saying things honestly with my student’s best interests (their safety!) in mind. I want my students to have a good experience -whatever that may be for them – and that they should listen to themselves and their own bodies and not push their limits, even if they’re listening to what i’m saying as a teacher. So i’m going to preface every class with – do what’s comfortable for you in the moment – don’t try and get the perfect pose if it doesn’t feel right for your body that day. If you need to come out of a pose, don’t be embarrassed. yoga is about listening to your body and your breath. and you shouldn’t compete with others (in the yoga class) and don’t judge yourself harshly either.

I wasn’t feeling up to doing my daily practice today right when I got home- but I did do a 15 minute yoga routine from Sarah Beth Yoga for during your period.

We got our daily sadhana practice for the next few weeks today, which includes the 2 new breathing practices we learned on the weekend, and another new meditation to practice (called Magnification of the Heart – a form of ‘heartfulness’ meditation that I learned over the last few weeks at work, where you focus on a light in your heart, and watch it grow and then hold it in your chest and concentrate on the light for 10 minutes and then sent it out into the rest of your body and then surround your body with the light and then send the light and love to your family, friends and everyone on the planet).

Our asana practice is to choose 5-7 warm ups to practice daily, and to review and practice all the crouching asana. The warm ups I did today were: neck roll, hip circles, spinal circles, leg massage, lateral side stretch, extended arm stretch.

I went through all the crouching asana after doing all the pranayama exercises and warm ups, and then followed it up with my 10 minute meditation.

We need to review seated asana which we’ll be learning the next time we’re in class on November 19/20th.

Journal question:

What does being a professional yoga teacher mean to you?

Being true to yourself and teaching from the heart. Guiding your students safely through a class to give them whatever they need (emotionally, physically, spiritually) and that their bodies can comfortably give them.

How do the yamas and niyamas influence ethics, values, beliefs and behaviours in practice?

The five yamas (‘right living’):

  1. Ahiṃsā (अहिंसा): Nonviolence, non-harming other living beings
  2. Satya (सत्य): truthfulness, non-falsehood
  3. Asteya (अस्तेय): non-stealing
  4. Brahmacharya (ब्रह्मचर्य): chastity
  5. Aparigraha (अपरिग्रहः): non-avarice, non-possessiveness/grasping
  • are values and behaviours that we should all strive for, for a ‘happy’ life, external behaviours

The Niyamas (duties/observances):

  1. Śauca: purity, clearness of mind, speech and body
  2. Santoṣa/Santosha: contentment, acceptance of others and of one’s circumstances as they are, optimism for self
  3. Tapas: austerity, self-discipline, persistent meditation, perseverance
  4. Svādhyāya: study of self, self-reflection, introspection of self’s thoughts, speeches and actions
  5. Īśvarapraṇidhāna: contemplation of the Ishvara (God/Supreme Being, Brahman, True Self, Unchanging Reality), attunement to the supreme consciousness
  • Ways to live our own lives, internally

 

Leave a Reply

