Day 49

If you breathe in and are aware that you are alive – that you can touch the miracle of being alive – then that is a kind of enlightenment ~ Thich Nhat Hahn

I overslept this morning (meaning that I also actually slept in today which is very rare for me! whoo!). I got up at 8am and headed straight to my yoga room to get started on my practice and warm up my body and get all the kinks out from being asleep all night  (for 8 hours and 50 minutes according to my Garmin Vivofit 2! I somehow had a sore side from sleeping weirdly), by going straight into sun salutations, and then rehearsing all the standing poses (one last time before this weekend when we start learning some crouching asana/postures!).

I followed the standing postures with Bad Yogi’s 30 Day Challenge Day 28 (as it’s October 28), which was a 11 minute flow and tutorial working up to Dancer pose, which was great because it gave me a slightly different perspective and way to get into the posture (from a high lunge). I found it a little easier today with her teaching. Also I was pretty solid once more in my balancing half moon pose!

I was going to leave my pranayama and meditation later in the day (once I’d gone out and (hopefully!) got my meditation cushion i’m hoping to get, but because my husband was still getting up and having a shower etc, I thought what the hell, I might as well get it all done now, so we can go take our dog for a walk and get some nice coffee and goodies (samosas and carrot bread!) from our newest favourite independent coffee shop (Kaur’s Coffee in Vancouver, BC).

I was done by just after 10am! For some reason, I found it a bit difficult to do the humming bee breath today, it was hurting my throat (i seemed to be tensing up my throat someow?) when I tried to do it at a higher pitch…strange.

Heading out to hopefully get my meditation pillow now!

Daily Journal Question

What brings you daily motivation and joy on and off the mat?

Off the mat: getting a nice cup of coffee (and sometimes a sweet treat!) at a local independent coffee shop/cafe (and then taking the dog for a walk with the coffee!)

On the mat: becoming more confident in myself and my poses! and being able to relax a bit and not take it so seriously – as Erin Motz (Bad Yogi) said in today’s video, it’s just yoga! nothing to be so serious about if you fall out of a posture!

 

 

Leave a Reply

