Day 40

Seek peace and pursue it ~ Psalm 34:14

I woke up at 4am this morning with my mind running and going over planning teaching yoga classes! And my mind wouldn’t shut up. Nope, it just kept going and going, no matter how much I tried to go back to sleep! Repeating over and over what I’d say, what poses I’d do…. why, brain?! Why?!

So I got up at 6am for work feeling exhausted!

 

Today we got our new Daily Sadhana practice outline which included:

  • incorporating as much of the dinacharya (daily routine aspect of Ayurverda) into our daily routine as possible (such as tongue scraping, oiling (with coconut oil in the summer, and sesame oil (or another ‘warming’ oil) in the winter), and drinking hot water (and chewing sesame seeds!) to help digestion. (side note: learned that cinnamon and pepper are great warming things to include in foods in fall/wintertime as they are heating to the body. I love cinnamon so that’s good with me!)
  • A new pranayama exercise – bumble bee or bee humming breath (which i learned during the one class at the yoga expo!)
  • A new meditation – a Buddhist ‘Loving Kindness’ meditation which is beautiful, and if we chose to do it, we have to chant it for 10 minutes
  • and lastly, practicing all the standing postures workshopped so far – pretty much all of them: the warriors, chair, eagle, tree, dancer, side angle, triangle, forward fold(s), half moon, goddess and tadasana of course!)

The Loving Kindness Meditation is as follows:

May I be filled with loving kindness

May I be well

May I be peaceful and at ease

May I be happy

(and then you repeat the same thing but replace I with : You, and then We and then All).

 

And this week’s daily Journaling question:

What brings you daily motivation and joy on and off the mat?

Today’s answer is: Being with my family and having their support for me doing this yoga journey!

 

Today at work during lunch, I did a yoga flow class for the first time with a new instructor – which I’ll be evaluationg as part of the YTT course (we have to attend 15 community classes to evaluate the teaching style/ability). She had us do exhalted triangle (!) and a weid side plank, with bottom leg straight out in front. It was a very strengthening class (or maybe my muscles were still tired from the recent yoga weekend!)

Leave a Reply

