Day 5

Breathing in, I calm my body, breathing out, I smile. Dwelling in the present moment I know this is a wonderful moment ~ Thich Nhat Hahn

Woke up at 6:30am before the sun was up, as that is when it’s best to do yoga (or after sunset – but I’m a morning person anyway).

I did pranayama practice, practicing 4 different types of breath work: chest, full yogi, alternate nostril breathing and ujjayi. Alternate nostril breathing is one of my favourites (but I’m probably weird!).

Then I did 2 meditation sessions. 10 minutes of observing my natural breath and 10 minutes of focusing on a silent chant which means ‘I am that’. My right leg  went all pins and needles during the first meditation and then the second one, I sat on  a rolled up blanket so my knees were below my hips and that helped with the numbness!

Then I did some warm ups  before doing the next day’s Journey Junkie 30 pose journey – which was chaturanga dandasana – and breaking it down made it SO HARD! i’d obviously been doing it wrong all this time… But I learned a lot. Then I did 10 minutes of sun salutation. By then it was just 8am and I crawled back into bed for a bit!

A thought of the day: meditating is hard! my thoughts wandered from my breathing a lot…but I guess that’s normal.

 

Leave a Reply

